Carrye: Bridges: My Lyme Journey

Reblog
StillASouthernGal makes no assumption of authorship or creative rights.
All Rights Reserved and Retained by Original Blogger
Originally posted here: HERE
Photo Credit, original blogger, personal photo.

“I don’t know why, but I’ve always been obsessed with bridges. As soon as I got my hands on a digital camera at the age of 12, I started expressing myself through pictures and found it to be something I greatly enjoy. One of my favorite things to capture are bridges. I love architecture in general (I’ll save that for another post).

Whenever I go to a new city or town,  I always become giddy with excitement when I see a bridge to capture on film. I’m tying to decipher what aspects of bridges entice me the most. Let’s see…hmmm. I love bodies of water surrounding the bridge. I love looking under the bridge and seeing the glistening water in the evening light. I also love looking up while I am driving over a bridge and seeing the lines dissect the sky in a perfect linear fashion. It is black and white. It’s concrete. The contrast against a bright blue sky or a pink tinged sky leave me breathless. This contrast of the heavy bridge with a light and airy sky along with soothing waters is simply remarkable. Not only can you find beauty in the bridge from a distance, but you can see its beauty while you are traveling on it. Another thing I love about bridges is that you can visualize them across the city. You can be in awe and not even be in the near vicinity. Its impact can ripple for miles. How cool is that?!

The most astounding thing about a bridge is its ability to transfer us from one land mass or area to another. One side may be more desirable than the other. In the light of being positive, let’s look at this as transferring from a land that looks barren and futile to a land lush with vegetation. The contrast may not always be this stark. In fact, I haven’t actually ever seen something like this, but I am just imagining that there is a similar place like this. While you are on the bridge itself, it isn’t the most attractive; your main focus is on the mundane cement road as you journey to the other land mass. As I mentioned earlier, there definitely is beauty to be found on the bridge itself. You look behind as you leave that unappealing land mass and look forward trying to catch a glance at the beauty ahead. You can’t see everything, so you just have to imagine the details. Sometimes crossing the bridge can take a very long time; for example, the bridge to Destin, Florida. Side-note: I always firmly believe that we are driving off the face of the earth when we drive on it. You can become inpatient while you are passing over a bridge, or you can use this time to become excited about all that lies ahead. Once you cross the bridge, you can see the detailed wonder of the new land. No more imagination; it is here! You can look from that land mass back on the bridge, and then you are able to see the beauty of the bridge because you have taken steps back and can see it in it’s entirety.

As I began thinking about bridges and visualizing their elegance, I couldn’t help but find a correlation with my personal Lyme journey. Lyme isn’t known for being glamorous, and this is for good reasons. Lyme treatment is also a beast of sorts. Putting your life on hold to do aggressive treatment that makes you very sick isn’t too pleasant. Ultimately, if you are on a good treatment, you are on the bridge, though. I’ve been away from that lush land mass for a minimum of almost 9 years. I’ve been on the bridge for over four years. I can’t truly see the beauty of the bridge because there is a lot of concrete right now. There is a lot of pain, discomfort, trials and sacrifices. You have to look up off the concrete every once in a while. There is goodness on this bridge. One day, I hope to look back on my Lyme bridge and see it’s beauty. I hope to further appreciate how it has shaped and molded me. I hope that people can look at my bridge from afar and be impacted.  The longer I am on the bridge, the longer I am being shaped by God, and I believe I will value the lush land more.

For me, there is an earthly lush land, and there is a heavenly lush land. The earthly land will still have some thistle and thorns. I will have residual effects of this disease and always have the possibility of relapses. There will be disappointments and pain. It will be more beautiful than the barren land and the bridge, but it isn’t perfect. The good news is that I believe that the heavenly land is perfect. There is no blemish or thorn. I will have a perfect body with perfect health. The word “perfect” sounds pretty darn good right now. I won’t have the looming fear of a relapse. It’s all done. Lyme is gone. If my focus is on this heavenly land mass, the bridge is beautiful because of the promise of perfection ahead. It makes things much more bearable.

Being on this journey isn’t fun, but I hope everyone can find joy and beauty wherever they are on their odyssey.”

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Southerngal here… Y’all know those people that shine from the inside out? Carrye is one of those people. One day very soon, she is going to inspire change. God knows what He’s doing.