Light

Today my son came home chattering about Science at school. I was half listening, until… he laid it right out there. Presently, according to him, the class is studying “Earth Science”, but next is (oh no, please don’t say it, please, please, ple) “Reproduction”! At that point, I was feeling like Ralphie’s mom (“Oh, FUDGE!!!”). I was speechless.

My son is beginning to experience growing pains, both physically and socially. I, as his mother, am filled with great trepidation as he begins the struggle of growing into himself. To this point, he has generally been a reflection of me. My beliefs are rooted deep in Southern culture; my maternal grandmother was a constant in my raising, and I try to follow her example.

It isn’t challenging to find the light in my son. It emanates directly from his heart. I can’t take any credit for that. At the end of the day, when he is saying his prayers, and recording them in his prayer journal, his complete innocence steals my breath. Most days I acknowledge directly to God Himself I have no idea what I’m doing.

My son had a dark and rocky start in life. He will have hard questions for me, as he has already begun to question the simple things. It’s my hope that God will continue to make the difference in “Nature vs Nurture”, and give me the words when I need them.

I do the best I can. I try to encourage without empty praise, I allow him to pray with me, or alone when there’s something heavy on his mind. We are blessed by a wonderful, spiritually supportive school. I have a job that I enjoy, with coworkers that are amazingly loving and prayerful.

I realize, more and more each day, that my son’s most important years are still to come. When he says to me, “Well, Mommy, did you see him yet?” I shake my head. He sighs, smiling from the depths of his soul. “Then get some sleep, cause when Jesus gets here, you’ll need to pay attention!”

I love that kid. And I know as long as I keep up my vigilance, my son will continue to laugh and love with all the light he can hold.

Be blessed, Y’all.

copyright notice