You Are The Branches

I need God. Well, yeah… we ALL need God. I’m in the midst of perhaps the greatest struggle of my life. I’ve always been a Christian, and I know I’m covered by the blood. I tend to be socially awkward, and the method I’ve always used to manage that awkwardness is withdrawal. I never PLAN to put up walls, nevertheless, I build them mighty high, reinforcing them with steel, and covering them with a kudzu patch. Nothing gets rid of kudzu.

For some time now, seven years (give or take ten), I’ve known full well I need to find a home church. What makes this circumstance a struggle has nothing at all to do with a lack of access. The struggle is in putting myself out there, taking the initiative, and personally connecting with people. In person. I feel awkward visiting churches where everybody knows everybody else, and I don’t. There is one such church nearby that I’ve seriously considered. How am I talking myself out of jumping in? Both my son and I have friends attending there; for him it’s the ultimate goal: have friends. For me, I am scared to death to plop my sinning fanny down in a pew next to people I know. I feel like I am invading their personal space, space in which THEY’VE put down roots, making the entire congregation their friend.

Over the past few years, I’ve come up with every excuse under Heaven to avoid even attempting to assimilate. It’s time to get over it. I’m going to have to just suck it up, and get involved. My son needs me to lead him in his spiritual maturation. And I need a few like minded, true, non judgmental, encouraging Christians with whom to grow. I’ve been praying for a church to “call” ME.

The same one church continues to hold the most appeal. That particular church is on fire for the Lord, and produces consistent fruit. I am working up the courage to be a “branch”, and ultimately I need to learn to trust His plan. My town isn’t a city, and there’s bound to be someone I know in each church I visit. So, there it is. I’m about to turn some struggles into blessings. One branch at a time.
Be blessed, Y’all.

~ “I am the vine;
you are the branches.
If you remain in me,
and I in you,
you will bear much fruit.
Apart from me,
you can do nothing.” ~

~ John 15:5 ~

copyright notice