True Friendship

Life is fluid, ever changing, and cumulative. Only God knows the long term plan, and He’s never asked for my input. In my adult life, I’ve relocated fourteen times. In all of those fourteen instances, I’ve found and kept few true friends.

We all have them- friends, I mean. We move though this place, our temporary home, growing older, and hopefully wiser. As we mature, our circle inevitably becomes smaller. In the age of instant technology, the term “friend” is tossed carelessly about, diluting its significance.

Over the last six years, I have been blessed by one friend in particular. Our friendship began in a professional capacity, but has since branched out into our individual personal lives. When friendship reaches the level of prayer and earnest support, the dynamics change, and friends become family.IMG_3500

I could never condense or adequately convey the magnitude of her importance- there are not enough words. She is steadfast and faithful. She is honest and trustworthy. She is thoughtful and giving. She is prayerful: pure in spirit and loving in heart. She is a mentor and a supporter.

In her professional role, my friend is an extraordinary leader. She never leaves our coworkers to struggle; she teaches them and builds them up. She is knowledgeable and diligent, always caring and advocating for our patients. She laughs with them; she’s cried with them; occasionally she is the only one that can connect with them. She is kind and compassionate, and never judgmental. I trust her skill and I seek her counsel. She is, quite simply, the absolute best charge nurse I have ever had the pleasure of working alongside.

On a much deeper and personal level, she has always been supportive of me. She’s helped me through sickness. She listens when I need an ear. She gives advice if I ask. I trust her more than I trust myself. I am difficult to know and even more difficult to love; Sometimes I am selfish enough to forget that she likely has her own struggles to work through. Apparently life does exist outside the doors of our unit. Outside those doors, she is a wife, a sister, and a daughter; and of course she is the most caring and involved Auntie this side of Heaven.

So it was only by the grace of God that I met her at all. But, God knows what he’s doing. He led me here (kicking and screaming all the way), to settle in our work home. And she just happens to be the center of it.

There are no means by which to show her how much I appreciate her friendship, and never enough words to thank her for standing with and beside me for so long.  She’s not only a true friend; she is, and will always be, family.

Be a guiding light. Be a loyal confidant. Be blessed, Y’all.

~ A friend loveth at all times. ~

Proverbs 14:2

copyright notice