Divided

~ And the king said, “Divide the living child in two, and give half to the one and half to the other. ~
1 Kings 3:25

King Solomon hedged his bets that a true mother would reveal herself by protecting her disputed child. Even though she’d break her own heart in the process.

The infant child could not speak for himself, and two women before the king each claimed the child as her own.

In the end, Solomon’s gamble paid off. As he suspected, the true mother pleaded with the king to spare her child’s life, and award him wholly to the other.

Solomon was called by God to unite His people, preside with wisdom, and judge with fairness and discernment. Solomon knew a true mother’s love would compel her to step back, and trusted God to never divide unjustly.

Twelve hours ago, I sat on a back row bench, watching grown folks tear each other down, each insistent they had one child’s best interests at heart.

I had my part to play, but in that room full of such loathsome drama, I felt gullible and naïve. I thought I knew everyone present. I’d worked with them for months. Apart from each other, they’d presented themselves as loving and cooperative.

I started to wonder why I’d volunteered to sit there at all.  I stared down at the case file on my lap. The cover page of my file is a copy of a note I wrote to encourage a young man, very much like my own, on a whim, because all children are good children though not all of them hear it. I wrote it several months ago, but I keep a copy in every file. I keep it to remind me of the first case I considered a success. I keep it for reassurance when I question my own relevance.

“Whenever you feel unloved, unimportant, and insecure, remember to whom you belong. I’m praying this for y’all, Kiddo. It’s Ephesians.”

He wrote back.

“We never belonged to anybody. Nobody ever prayed for us. Is Ephesians your football team? Can you tell them we don’t want to move again? She says we can both stay here as long as we want to.”

I was again humbled by my purpose there.

My Solomon wore a black robe today. Wisdom did prevail, when the person who most loves the disputed child offered to step away in order to avoid further dividing her spirit of innocence.

I do not envy either Solomon. The weight of justice is so great that only God can truly carry it.

When Solomon puts on a black robe, he is bound by his integrity. God hasn’t given His robe- He’s only lent it.

~ Give me now wisdom and knowledge, that I may go out and come in before this people: for who can judge this thy people, that is so great? ~
2 Chronicles 1:10

(c) 2015