(No) Failure

This is a gut check…

I haven’t prepared much for how life will go on after this week. As it is, we have been getting through- first in hours, now in days. Losing someone you love, without warning, is devastating.

Somebody has to remain calm. Somebody has to remain in control. It will get better, and of course, God’s love keeps us all above the fray.

I’m sad; I’m distracted; but the world doesn’t stop. Back to life. Back to reality…

I’ve been worried about my son’s academic efforts- or lack thereof, all year. He has the same lackadaisical approach in his studies (the mundane and the paperwork) as I always have. He is extremely intelligent. And in our little school, expectations are high, the curriculum is advanced, and he is never bored.

I had a very open round table discussion with his teachers and administrators today. Our discussion covered the basics: “Yes, he’s bright; yes, he’s easily distracted; yes, he’s disorganized; yes, he will mature appropriately.”

But then… “He helps others; he is very compassionate; he likes to lead prayer.”

And there it was: He leads prayer.

In the end, that’s all that matters. And as long as he has God to guide and Jesus to reside- I’m doing my job, and I’ll never fail him.

Be diligent. Be vigilant. Be blessed, Y’all.

 

 This life, therefore is not righteousness, but growth in righteousness,
not health, but healing,
not being but becoming,
not rest but exercise.
We are not yet what we shall be, but we are growing toward it,
the process is not yet finished, but it is going on,
this is not the end, but it is the road.
All does not yet gleam in glory, but all is being purified.” 
Martin Luther

(c) 2015