Ouija

Quick review :
I am a Christian.
I am a mother.
My child is growing up.
My child is becoming more independent.
I am (very) Type A.

Up to speed? Awesome.

It’s hot down here. Like, sitting-in-a-swamp-no-breeze-100-degrees hot. This is how Southerners get “heavy”- it’s too hot to get outside. We find nice, refrigerated places to spend our afternoons.

Last Friday afternoon, my son asked to lounge in a local refrigerator otherwise referred to as the bookstore. They must’ve rearranged the layout, because nothing was where it should’ve been. Baby Bob usually gathers up a pile of books about cars, guns, or animals, and I steered him in that general direction BEFORE I noticed the new layout.

He was taking awhile, but I found him. In the aisle labeled “Horror”, with a book in his hand.

“Mama, have you ever read this book?”

My son was holding up a copy of Stephen King’s Carrie. When the remake of the movie Carrie came out, he wanted to see it. I saw the ORIGINAL Carrie, and I still feel like hiding under my covers just thinking about it.

My own Mama is a Stephen King fan, and owns every word he’s ever written. There was no censorship when it came to books or research in Mama’s house. Mama always emphasized independence tempered by prudence and discernment- but never outright censorship. I could read anything at all. And I did. I read King’s books- all of them. Before I was out of middle school.

And Baby Bob knew the answer before he asked the question.

He figured he had me cornered. I hate to be cornered.

“Yep. I’ve read it.”

“How about this one?”

Pet Sematary? Yep. And Christine. The Shining. It. The Stand. Yep. All of them.”

Honesty is a double edged sword, sometimes.

I waited for him to put the books back. But he didn’t.

“I’m going to read this one, then.”

He didn’t even look up. He thought he was baiting me- he fully expected me to object.

What was I supposed to do? I responded as Mama did. I told him I didn’t think it was a very good choice, but left it up to him to decide.

He brought the book over to a table, and started to read. I ain’t gonna lie- I was praying. Seriously praying.

He made it through the first chapter. Then he said, again without looking up, “There’s a Ouija board game over there, too. It says for age 8 and older. I am older…”

Nope. I couldn’t let that one slide.

“What exactly is a Ouija board, Son??”

He looked a little unsure. He’d picked his battle, though, and dug his heels in.

“I guess it’s a game. For ages 8 and older. I am older…”

“I disagree. It is not a game. It is not for an 8-year-old, and it is absolutely not for you. No matter how old you think you are! Now read, if you’re going to read!”

He continued to read. After another half hour he got up, and went back to the shelves. I figured he was going to get another book. I was trying hard to wait it out, let him read a little junk, let him have a few nightmares, and get through this little phase of ‘growth’.

He came back to the table without another book, said he was ‘freezing’, and ready to leave.

I gave him a few of my books to carry, and we walked the center aisle to the back of the store.
I glanced at the clearance table as we passed, but I didn’t stop to look through the stack.image

We shelved my books, took the opposite side of the center aisle, and passed the same table. The display caught my eye. A full display of Ouija boards. My son looked trapped, turning away, pulling me along.

“Mama. We have to go.  Just leave it there. Mama? PLEASE come on!!”

Right on top of the Ouija boards, someone had placed a book. Not just any old book, but THE Book… the Holy Bible.

“Hey! Did you do that??”

He looked a little pale, like he might throw up or faint.

I know that look. He isn’t the only one who knows the answer before he asks a question.

“Leave it there, Mama. Some poor 8-year-old really needs to see it.”

I’m never sure I’m going to make it through his physical growth, or preteen independence.
But I’m definitely going to make it through his spiritual growth. That’s MY boy. God’s boy. Pure gold.

Be wary and keep watch. Be blessed, Y’all.

~ Do NOT go the way of evil. Avoid it, turn away from it, and pass on. ~
~ Proverbs 4:14,15 ~

(I make light in telling my Ouija board story- which is a very true story, but please hear me clearly: evil abounds. God is clear in His instruction to us. He tells us to completely separate ourselves from evil. We cannot fail to help our children discern between darkness and light. Pray for your children. Talk to your children. Nothing is more important than their eternity.)

(c) 2015