The Best Advice

All Southerners give unsolicited advice. Call it a regional predisposition. I give my share of advice, most of it unsolicited- but I get plenty of it, too. The following is a copy of a chat.

Your solution isn’t working.
      Neither is yours.
Again. We have come 
right back to the same point.
Give me a new solution.image
      Just STOP.
Stop what?

      This.
Like, how?

      Is this making you happy?
No.

      Is this hurting you?
Definitely.

      Okay. So stop.
Just like that?

      Yep. Just like that.

 

End chat…
Could it really be so simple?
Well, six months ago I certainly didn’t think so.
I thought it was cold, and offensive. Until today.

I’ve been muddling through an entirely different problem.
But as it turns out, the solution is exactly the same.
What I’d dismissed as a callous and heartless conversation six months ago,
was actually the best advice I’ve ever been given.
It is applicable to all life’s circumstances.

If it hurts- stop. Just like that. 

Be blessed, Y’all.

 ‘Begin at the beginning,’ the King said, very gravely, ‘and go on till you come to the end: then stop.’
The King of Hearts
Lewis Carroll Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

 

(c) 2015

One thought on “The Best Advice

Comments are closed.