What Do You Say

For look, the wicked bend their bows;
they set their arrows against the strings
to shoot from the shadows at the upright in heart.
When the foundations are being destroyed,
what can the righteous do? 
~ Psalm 11:2,3 ~

‘What can the righteous do’… or say… when they are overwhelmed by sorrow?

I saw a post on social media this evening that truly stunned my heart. A friend’s family member was a victim of a senseless, violent crime. The article did not give much detail, but did confirm her family member died from his injuries.

I know all too well that the death of a close family member is invariably difficult. But the violent, sudden death of a loved one leaves entire generations reeling. Google can tell us how they are SUPPOSED to feel. But every person experiences loss differently. No response is the same, therefore, no path to “peace” is predictable. And there is still no way around grief.

Who can adequately explain such circumstances to his widow? To his children?? To his grandchildren??? Who can make any of them feel protected or whole? I don’t know. I don’t know what to do. I certainly don’t know what to say. Sometimes, I guess, there really are no words- at least no words I’ve ever written.

image

But You, O God, do see trouble and grief;
You consider it, to take it in hand.
The victim commits himself to You;
You are the helper of the fatherless.
~ Psalm 10:14 ~

Maybe I can only lend my heart and sincere prayers to my friend. I can stand by and wait in The Lord. Without words.

Then they sat on the ground with him
for seven days and seven nights.
No one said a word to him,
because they saw
how great his suffering was.
~ Job 2:13 ~

 

 

 

copyright notice